skip to content

Department of Land Economy

Environment, Law & Economics
 

Preventing unwanted Zoom spammers/bombers

Zoom bombing is when someone, who is not supposed to be in your meeting, enters your Zoom meeting and begins spamming the chat or video feeds with unwanted dialogue or content. They may also post malicious links into chat in an effort to get participants to click on them. Although rare, for the obvious reasons, we will want to prevent that, so here are a few tips to make your Zoom meeting as secure as possible.

If you are creating a Zoom meeting via your personal account, go into the account settings and make sure you have the following options selected.  

First go to Settings > Security.

 

 

Now make sure you have “Require that all meetings have at least one security option.” Set to on.

 

 

If you want, you can turn on a waiting room, but if you do, you or a co-host will have to admit attendees. More on this below.

The rest of your security settings should look like this (below).

 

 

If you have enabled the waiting room, anyone arriving for the meeting will now be held in the waiting room and their names will appear in a waiting room box above the Participants bar. You can then choose to admit or remove them. Nothing done within the main meeting room is visible or audible to those in the waiting room.

 

 

You can also set some meeting preferences via the menu indicated by the ellipsis or “More” in the Participants area, choosing to lock the meeting once everyone has arrived (it will need to be unlocked again if someone leaves and wishes to return) or making participants unable to unmute themselves. You can also mute all participants upon entry.

 

Using the Screen Share settings in meeting, you can control who can share their screen with the rest of the participants. This is easily configured by clicking on the little arrow within the screen share icon on the Zoom toolbar, navigating to “Advanced options”

 

 

This should bring up your meeting’s advanced sharing options. From here you can control who can share their screen and how it can be shared. Once configured, you can click on the main part of the icon to get to the usual screen share options.

 

If your meeting does not require text chat, or you would like to restrict who sees chat messages, you can do this in your Zoom meeting by navigating to the Zoom toolbar and clicking on “Chat. “This will open the chat, and you will see in the bottom right hand corner another “…” icon. Click on this for your chat options.

 

 

It should be set to “Everyone” by default, but you can change this in the meeting to suit your needs. This is very useful for Q&A’s and quickly shutting down spammers.

Alternatively, Chat can be disabled altogether by clicking on “Security” on the Zoom toolbar and unticking the “Chat” option.

 

 

Through use of the above Security menu, you can also enable or disable Screen sharing, participants ability to start video and unmute themselves. Be aware that using the security menu in this way will deactivate these options for all participants.

If someone does manage to slip through the net and enter the room anyway, you can remove them by clicking on their name in the participants list, then select “remove” from the drop-down menu. If you have a waiting room enabled, you may see their name pop up there again, but unless someone admits them, they cannot re-enter the room or see anything that is happening in the meeting itself.

Finally, if you are using your personal Zoom accounts to schedule meetings, always use a password. If you have followed the guidance regarding your security settings, Zoom should assign your new scheduled meetings a numerical password. This, along with the Meeting ID number should be passed out to the participants of your meeting securely. Direct links to your meeting can sometimes bypass the password depending on your settings.

To locate your meeting’s ID and password, schedule your meeting as usual and when you reach the security section, tick the box beside “passcode.” This should Generate your number.

 

Note: If you are planning on someone other than the admin of the account running your meeting, do not tick the Waiting Room box! A waiting room can be created by them once they claim host in the meeting.

To locate your Meeting ID, once you have saved your meeting, you will be taken to the meeting details summary page, you can see it here.

 

 

If you have any Zoom queries or issues, please contact your local IT support.

This guidance has been adapted from that produced by Clare Mackenzie, IT/AV technician in the Faculty of Education, to whom we are grateful.